What Is Joy Part 1

Dick-Niederhauser states, the word happiness refers to two distinct states of mind. The first one which can be regarded as the affective-experiential component of happiness or happiness as an emotional state, is often called joy. This is an intense but usually short-lived feeling of bliss and overflowing gladness. The second component of happiness, which can be regarded as the cognitive-evaluate component of happiness or well-being or happiness as a personality trait, often called life satisfaction or subjective well being.

I believe that Dick-Niederhauser neglected the idea that Joy can be a choice. I choose to be joyful, content no matter what my circumstance, Like the apostle Paul who learned to be content no matter what the circumstance. Being content in every circumstance lets you choose to be happy and joyful. Grumbling, whining, pouting or throwing a temper-tantrum these things will steal your joy; and as long as you carry the bitterness, you can’t have joy. These two things cannot co-exist.

It may sound hard or seem impossible to choose joy when you are in the midst of, loss, or pain, or disappointment. I’d like to share my journey to choosing joy with you.

Dick Niederhauser,A. (2009). Therapeutic change and the experience of joy: Toward a theory of curative processes Journal of Psychotherapy Integration. 19(2), 187-201. doi:10.1037/a0016020.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hubertwrites
    Nov 17, 2013 @ 05:51:36

    Hi Ella I liked this I believe you are right, along with Paul, He’s always a safe bet to side with. I think that the deepest joy come natural when one is truly born again and even in the harshest most dire events of that life there is always a root or a seed of this joy. I hope you post more soon, I think we shared before? If we didn’t I am embarrassed and foncused ah i mean confused so plz frgive me
    Hubert

    Reply

    • loveandotheroddities
      Jan 03, 2014 @ 18:08:53

      The Bible also has some excellent information on “choosing” joy. It’s a relatively new idea for me, but I try and practice on a daily basis.

      Reply

      • hubertwrites
        Jan 03, 2014 @ 20:51:22

        lol yeah choosing happiness can be extremely hard at times. I think people who’s suffer a lot can have joy in far more simplistic ways than the healthy and strong. I suffer daily, but I am a happy person regardless.

        God Bless you in this new year Ella

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

